Navigation and service

Bundesgerichtshof (link to homepage)

What is the Federal Court of Justice?

The Federal Court of Justice (Bundesgerichtshof – BGH) was established in Karlsruhe on 1 October 1950.

It is Germany's highest court of general, i.e. civil and criminal, jurisdiction which, at the lower instances, is exercised by the local, regional and higher regional courts that come under the authority of the German Federal States.

Around 75 percent of all judges are working in this field.

A brochure with a short description of the Federal Court of Justice (July 2014) can be downloaded here:

Not barrier-free file.  The Federal Court of Justice (PDF, 5 MB, Not barrier-free file.)

This Page:

© 2014 Bundesgerichtshof